Host Quake 2?

Games such as Quake, CounterStrike, Unreal Tournament, Team Fortress, or any 'first person shooter' can be discussed here.

Moderators: EatMoreLead, Suck., Timmy

Quake 2 server?

Yes
18
60%
No
12
40%
 
Total votes: 30

User avatar
CyberPitz
Elite Member
Posts: 1538
Joined: Oct 11th, 2004 at 2:53 pm

Postby CyberPitz » Dec 1st, 2005 at 4:35 am

EatMoreLead wrote:next LAN is in summer 2006, although cat is hosting one in a few weeks

Which I'm going to, since it's rather close to home. *in retrospect to Dallas*

User avatar
Catalyst22
Elite Member
Posts: 3606
Joined: Sep 30th, 2004 at 8:21 pm

Postby Catalyst22 » Dec 1st, 2005 at 10:48 am

I don't want to sustain a Q2 server. I just want to do a couple weeks of Q2 loving. Nothing permanent. I'll see if I can find my Q2 disk and I'll host one up on my work connection and we can see how it runs for everyone. (that is if I can find my q2 disks)
“When you have the facts on your side, argue the facts. When you have the law on your side, argue the law. When neither is on your side, change the subject and question the motives of the opposition.â€

User avatar
CyberPitz
Elite Member
Posts: 1538
Joined: Oct 11th, 2004 at 2:53 pm

Postby CyberPitz » Dec 1st, 2005 at 3:43 pm

If you can't find them, I've got everything needed on a CD somewhere...I could RAR it and host it somewhere.

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7114
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Dec 1st, 2005 at 3:53 pm

q2 server upload should be finished to our box in Houston by the time I get offa work today.

User avatar
Oreo
l33t scr1pt0r
Posts: 1191
Joined: Jan 1st, 2005 at 3:49 pm

Postby Oreo » Dec 1st, 2005 at 4:02 pm

Yea Cyber, I did the same thing. I ripped all the needed files with the 3.20 patch and mods included to a CD-rw so I could take it to class. I'm sure it's around here somewhere.

used my cd to install the full version and patched it from fileplanet with full CTF. totals about 380mb with a full install.


K2, post up the IP as soon as it's up in IRC please, we should try for some 64 player maps, or 32, I know there were some. With the ways computers are now a days, we should be able to rape on them without any slowdown. That will be tight.

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7114
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Dec 1st, 2005 at 6:45 pm

All I need to do is play the with server.cfg a bit, and have G$ open up a few ports on the firewall that server is behind so you can see and connect to the q2 port. Just waiting on G$ basically ;)

User avatar
eulogy
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Aug 28th, 2005 at 12:13 pm

Postby eulogy » Dec 1st, 2005 at 7:21 pm

K2 wrote:All I need to do is play the with server.cfg a bit, and have G$ open up a few ports on the firewall that server is behind so you can see and connect to the q2 port. Just waiting on G$ basically ;)


I heart K2. (and G$)

/me dusts off q2 disc, digs around for old .cfgs ^^

User avatar
sohpriest
Senior Member
Posts: 718
Joined: Oct 15th, 2005 at 8:26 pm

Postby sohpriest » Dec 1st, 2005 at 7:52 pm

can anyone help. Is the link that was listed all I will need to play or is there something else I will need. I can't find my old cds.
"I am Jack's smirking revenge."

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7114
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Dec 1st, 2005 at 8:46 pm

Hey if push comes to shove, I'll just .rar up my q2 cd and make it available online.

User avatar
T3K
Senior Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Jan 12th, 2005 at 7:53 pm

Postby T3K » Dec 1st, 2005 at 8:57 pm

if you could do that k2, that would make it a lot easier... since i dont even have a disc...
If you can't spot the sucker at the table in your first half hour then you are the sucker.

User avatar
Oreo
l33t scr1pt0r
Posts: 1191
Joined: Jan 1st, 2005 at 3:49 pm

Postby Oreo » Dec 1st, 2005 at 8:57 pm

Dont do that K2, rar the folder with the patches and CTF. Saves install time, it doesnt create any registry files. Plus, the file size is smaller I believe.

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7114
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Dec 1st, 2005 at 9:23 pm

Good call oreo... I can omit the video files from it as well. I'll do that tonight.

User avatar
b0ba
Senior Member
Posts: 363
Joined: Sep 15th, 2002 at 10:17 am

Postby b0ba » Dec 1st, 2005 at 10:46 pm

nice....my q2 cd is still packed from me moving somewhere...i dont wanna have to look for it :D

User avatar
ParanoiaX
Senior Member
Posts: 891
Joined: Dec 3rd, 2004 at 7:26 pm

Postby ParanoiaX » Dec 2nd, 2005 at 6:43 am

just installed. anyway to play at 1280x1024 and something besides 16 color graphics?
I'll try being nicer if you'll try being smarter.

User avatar
Oreo
l33t scr1pt0r
Posts: 1191
Joined: Jan 1st, 2005 at 3:49 pm

Postby Oreo » Dec 2nd, 2005 at 10:25 am

Yea you can run at 32-bit if you choose opengl as the renderer. As for 1280x1024, I dont know. I saw 1280x968 or something, so i just went with 1024x768.

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7114
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Dec 2nd, 2005 at 10:51 am

See latest q2 server post in the game server forum.

User avatar
Kahuna Mas
Senior Member
Posts: 604
Joined: Feb 11th, 2004 at 9:57 am

Postby Kahuna Mas » Dec 2nd, 2005 at 10:55 am

Kahuna Mas wrote:This idea is nothing more than a novelty. Yes we all played Q2 back in the day and still to some extent remember the twitch reflexes and andrenalin the game brings.

We can't even get the new BF2:SF full and that game is very nice and very new.

I think we'd all get excited, but quickly everyone would remember why they moved on to other games. It was a great game like Tecmo Bowl was great, but it had its day.

IMO this would be a fun event for a LAN party contest or something.


Now that this is up I have to admit that I am very much interested. I hate being proved wrong. Good thing it only happens once a year :wink:

User avatar
Oreo
l33t scr1pt0r
Posts: 1191
Joined: Jan 1st, 2005 at 3:49 pm

Postby Oreo » Dec 2nd, 2005 at 11:42 am

216.166.47.187:27910

User avatar
ParanoiaX
Senior Member
Posts: 891
Joined: Dec 3rd, 2004 at 7:26 pm

Postby ParanoiaX » Dec 2nd, 2005 at 3:36 pm

Oreo wrote:Yea you can run at 32-bit if you choose opengl as the renderer. As for 1280x1024, I dont know. I saw 1280x968 or something, so i just went with 1024x768.


oh yeah that would be smart lol. opengl ftw. yeah im running at 1280x960. i rather doubt i can do 1280x1024 as its an lcd thing and old games dont support it but i was wondering if there was a way i could force the resolution or something.
I'll try being nicer if you'll try being smarter.

User avatar
Mouser
Elite Member
Posts: 1633
Joined: Dec 12th, 2004 at 8:34 pm

Postby Mouser » Dec 2nd, 2005 at 4:52 pm

So anyone wanna set up a time where we can all get in and frag?

User avatar
Oreo
l33t scr1pt0r
Posts: 1191
Joined: Jan 1st, 2005 at 3:49 pm

Postby Oreo » Dec 2nd, 2005 at 5:30 pm

ParanoiaX wrote:
Oreo wrote:Yea you can run at 32-bit if you choose opengl as the renderer. As for 1280x1024, I dont know. I saw 1280x968 or something, so i just went with 1024x768.


oh yeah that would be smart lol. opengl ftw. yeah im running at 1280x960. i rather doubt i can do 1280x1024 as its an lcd thing and old games dont support it but i was wondering if there was a way i could force the resolution or something.



no idea, that's my native desktop resolution on my 17" CRT though. 1280x1024 so I was looking for it too. even though i play CS in 1024, so that's what I figured I would just do for quake 2. you would try -length and -width commands in the shortcut, not sure how successful you will be though.

User avatar
Jeng
Elite Member
Posts: 1360
Joined: Nov 16th, 2005 at 6:16 pm

Postby Jeng » Dec 4th, 2005 at 6:40 pm

Oreo wrote:It's "free" t3k because a CD key isn't required. For those that haven't bought it all you need is the folder of the game which is 300-400MB or so, and that's it. No key, no no-cd patches or anything, just need the folder and an IP to connect to

searched google and came up with this:

http://thegang.junik.lv/Downloads/quake2full.rar

not sure if it's the correct file, I didn't bother downloading it myself, but the file size rar'd seems about right.


Believe that is the one I downloaded from, if not perhaps there was a link in the FPS forum?

I know I downloaded it from a link in these forums somewhere.
I really need to change this sig

User avatar
Catalyst22
Elite Member
Posts: 3606
Joined: Sep 30th, 2004 at 8:21 pm

Postby Catalyst22 » Dec 5th, 2005 at 1:20 am

I'll be on tomorow night around 10:00 Central if anyone is up for some Q2 love'n
“When you have the facts on your side, argue the facts. When you have the law on your side, argue the law. When neither is on your side, change the subject and question the motives of the opposition.â€

User avatar
sohpriest
Senior Member
Posts: 718
Joined: Oct 15th, 2005 at 8:26 pm

Postby sohpriest » Dec 5th, 2005 at 11:21 am

I can do tuesday night at 10:00 Central.
"I am Jack's smirking revenge."


Return to “FPS/Action Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests