New HDD

Need some advice on what video card to buy? Wanna buy/sell/trade some equipment? This is the place to ask.

Moderators: EatMoreLead, Suck., DocNsane

User avatar
DirtyCabbage
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Oct 10th, 2007 at 2:34 pm

New HDD

Postby DirtyCabbage » Jan 11th, 2008 at 1:58 pm

Hey guys. I got a new HDD lastnight, sATA port. My main one in the computer right now is regular IDE sadly enough (go wifey!) Anywho. I installed it plugged it into a sATA port on my mobo, it acts like it reads it, even shows it in device manager, yet i can't see it in my computer to use it... it came with a jumper setting but i removed it because it says it is only needed for 1.5 gb/s ports while mine supports 3gb/s on my mobo. I have tried 2 different ports on my mobo and it still will not show in computer. Any help would be much appreciated. Thought it would be simple, but apparently not.

User avatar
G$
Benefactor
Posts: 499
Joined: Oct 20th, 2004 at 12:56 pm

Postby G$ » Jan 11th, 2008 at 2:33 pm

Assuming you are on an XP/Vista system - right click on my computer > manage > disk management. You should see the new drive as unallocated space. You can create a volume, assign it a drive letter, and format it as desired. Once you do that you should see the drive in Winders

G$

User avatar
DirtyCabbage
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Oct 10th, 2007 at 2:34 pm

Postby DirtyCabbage » Jan 12th, 2008 at 1:58 am

TYVM sir, that was it. Weird though, it shows it in my taskbar as removable hardware, which I guess it is? Do i need to stop it each time before I turn off my computer? I am narb.

User avatar
Phoenix
Elite Member
Posts: 1980
Joined: Nov 24th, 2004 at 3:13 pm

Postby Phoenix » Jan 12th, 2008 at 8:43 am

Every SATA drive I have ever used did that, you shouldn't need to turn it off. In my current computer that is the only hard drive in it and it shows like that, just shut her down and everything will be fine.
Former HF clan member, server admin, all around troll

"You don't do things right once-in-a-while. You do them right all the time."- Vince Lombardi

User avatar
Catharsys
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Mar 2nd, 2005 at 12:57 am

Postby Catharsys » Jan 12th, 2008 at 1:34 pm

A lot of computers have eSATA ports on the backside is the reason why.

User avatar
Suck.
Benefactor
Posts: 3146
Joined: Nov 13th, 2004 at 8:36 pm

Postby Suck. » Jan 12th, 2008 at 6:07 pm

I have a both a SATA and an eSATA drive, but only my eSATA drive shows up in Safely Remove Hardware.


-Grant.


Return to “All Things Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests