Overclocked my Athlon 4200 x2

Need some advice on what video card to buy? Wanna buy/sell/trade some equipment? This is the place to ask.

Moderators: EatMoreLead, Suck., DocNsane

User avatar
Phoenix
Elite Member
Posts: 1980
Joined: Nov 24th, 2004 at 3:13 pm

Overclocked my Athlon 4200 x2

Postby Phoenix » Nov 14th, 2007 at 6:39 pm

So I started to feel like my computer was out of date, been 2 years since I updated it so I got a new Heat sink (Linky) and OCed the fucker. Cost me a total of $60 for heatsink, Arctic Silver and shipping , far less then a new processor.

Stock speed on it is 2.2Ghz I managed to bump it up to 2.55.

Did have to lower RAM speed though, to 300 the ram could go to 400 but the mobo can't take it. I was only at 333 anyway cause I have 4 sticks of RAM in. Timing came down to, from 3, 3, 3, 7 to 2.5, 2, 2, 6.

HT is down a bit to 928Mhz from 1.0Ghz but again no big deal.

Voltage is up to 1.4 and heat never tops 45.

All in all I must say I'm rather happy.
Former HF clan member, server admin, all around troll

"You don't do things right once-in-a-while. You do them right all the time."- Vince Lombardi

User avatar
pyrox420
Elite Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Nov 4th, 2004 at 5:42 pm

Postby pyrox420 » Nov 15th, 2007 at 9:21 am

I have a 4500 dual core... plan on bumping that up soon too. I have to give amd credit... they do know how to keep the modders happy. :)
"You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with until you understand who's in ruttin' command here". - Jayne

User avatar
Maverick
Elite Member
Posts: 1944
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 1:33 pm

Postby Maverick » Nov 15th, 2007 at 11:15 am

Right on Phoenix.

I only recently got brave enough to OC my AMD 64 3200+.
"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing..."
-Edmund Burke


Image

User avatar
Suck.
Benefactor
Posts: 3146
Joined: Nov 13th, 2004 at 8:36 pm

Postby Suck. » Nov 15th, 2007 at 12:10 pm

The motherboard also can make a big difference in ease of overclocking. It took me very little effort to OC my Pentium 4 from 2.8Ghz to 3.26Ghz.


-Grant.

User avatar
Phoenix
Elite Member
Posts: 1980
Joined: Nov 24th, 2004 at 3:13 pm

Postby Phoenix » Nov 15th, 2007 at 3:16 pm

Yeah, MSI is crap for OCing these days, I have a friend with an 4000 and an Asus mobo, he got to 2.5 simply because he has better control over voltage, I can get it to boot at 2.64, but because the setting to change my core speed is shitty I can't give the CPU more than 1.44 so it crashes when you try to play TF2. It will work for like an hour of TF2 at 2.6 right now so I'm sure that if I could get my vcore to 1.5 I could run at 2.64 no problem.

I might mess around with it a bit more this weekend. I may take the multiplier from 11x down to 10 and see if I can get it to work at an FSB of 250 so my HT is back to 1000 and my RAM is back to 333.
Former HF clan member, server admin, all around troll

"You don't do things right once-in-a-while. You do them right all the time."- Vince Lombardi

User avatar
Suck.
Benefactor
Posts: 3146
Joined: Nov 13th, 2004 at 8:36 pm

Postby Suck. » Nov 15th, 2007 at 5:45 pm

Yeh, I'm running an Asus mobo.


-Grant.


Return to “All Things Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest