Trying to install,

Unix/Linux users rejoice! This forum is just for you.

Moderators: EatMoreLead, Suck.

User avatar
Jeng
Elite Member
Posts: 1360
Joined: Nov 16th, 2005 at 6:16 pm

Trying to install,

Postby Jeng » Dec 29th, 2005 at 9:36 pm

Been wanting to do a linux install for a long time, just never really had a computer + harddrive I could afford to loose. Finally have one, its my old HP 6630, celeron 500, 256mgs of ram, intel 810 motherboard integrated graphics. I've been attempting to install Ubuntu since lots of people have been talking about how user friendly it is and blah blah blah blah, unfortunatly I can't get it to install on that computer.

During the installing base system part it gets to 70% done ( I think it was create device files) and it goes red with failure. I checked the cd-rom integrity and it pops up errors, so I burn a new disk, same thing, same spot, so I redownload a new iso, burn a new disk, same thing same spot.

Any ideas?

Suggestions?

Should I try a different distro?
I really need to change this sig

User avatar
pyrox420
Elite Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Nov 4th, 2004 at 5:42 pm

Postby pyrox420 » Dec 30th, 2005 at 9:35 am

I've had the same issues a few times back in the day when i first tried debian. Usually it isn't the ISO itself but the disto on your pc configuration. Here is what i would try...
1. Install a slightly older version of the distro (or if they have a newer alpha version) and see if it craps out at that point. If it continues to do it... it's probably a bug in there install. Submit a bug report if you want to get into the community.

2. Try a different distor. I'd suggest Mandriva for a user friendly distro, or Fedora for a little more hard core distro (but still user friendly). I personally used mandrake as my first distro about 6 years ago. I grew out of it very fast and moved to Redhat, which is now Fedora which i'm using right now. So i'd be more apt to help you with fedora if you go that route.

Maybe... give us some more info on the error message, or post on the Ubuntu forums (or mailling list... ) someone might help. Or google the error.
"You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with until you understand who's in ruttin' command here". - Jayne

User avatar
Catalyst22
Elite Member
Posts: 3606
Joined: Sep 30th, 2004 at 8:21 pm

Postby Catalyst22 » Dec 30th, 2005 at 9:42 am

Install Suse to get your feet wet. Then move to umbuntu. I'm not a Linux guru, but I started with Redhat (stay away from redhat if you are a noob) and it was pretty difficult to learn on. I'm now running Suse on my web server and its very easy to use... kinda cheesy how easy it is... Umbuntu is famous for its documentation and ease of use. I would like to install it, but the packages I run are not available for it yet i.e cPanel, Plesk and a few others.
“When you have the facts on your side, argue the facts. When you have the law on your side, argue the law. When neither is on your side, change the subject and question the motives of the opposition.â€

User avatar
Jeng
Elite Member
Posts: 1360
Joined: Nov 16th, 2005 at 6:16 pm

Postby Jeng » Jan 3rd, 2006 at 8:18 pm

Ok, tried 3 different live cd's, and 2 different installs.

Most of the error messages were saying that the cd-rom doesn't exist :|

Guess I'll have to rip it back apart and double check the connections even though well..I was installing from the cd rom, so it must be working enough to get into the linux install.

Perhaps I may need to go buy a different cd-rom?
I really need to change this sig

User avatar
pyrox420
Elite Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Nov 4th, 2004 at 5:42 pm

Postby pyrox420 » Jan 3rd, 2006 at 8:46 pm

Uhm... yea, check the burner too and the cd-rom. And the disk type.. or bios settings (but i can't think of any off the top of my head...)
"You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with until you understand who's in ruttin' command here". - Jayne

User avatar
G$
Benefactor
Posts: 499
Joined: Oct 20th, 2004 at 12:56 pm

Postby G$ » Jan 3rd, 2006 at 10:18 pm

format the disk
copy the installation files to the disk
install from disk

G$

User avatar
pyrox420
Elite Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Nov 4th, 2004 at 5:42 pm

Postby pyrox420 » Jan 3rd, 2006 at 10:29 pm

Or you can do an install from the web repository. You just need the first disk. Example:
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=50221
That's what i've done for the last 3 distro installs.
"You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with until you understand who's in ruttin' command here". - Jayne

User avatar
|PoRn| Profess0r
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Dec 30th, 2005 at 1:26 am

Postby |PoRn| Profess0r » Jan 3rd, 2006 at 10:57 pm

I would like to try nix again. I installed fedora on my notebook (dual boot) but had a hell of a time installing programs. The make file thing took me for a loop. Read and read still couldn't figure it out. :D

User avatar
pyrox420
Elite Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Nov 4th, 2004 at 5:42 pm

Postby pyrox420 » Jan 3rd, 2006 at 11:32 pm

Fuck the make, install shit.... YUM baby! that's where it's at. :) Yum downloads, installs, get's dependencies, configures rpms automatically... heck yea!
"yum install apache" and were done!
And... update all apps at once? DONE!
"yum update" and were done! Heck yea. :)
"You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with until you understand who's in ruttin' command here". - Jayne

User avatar
|PoRn| Profess0r
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Dec 30th, 2005 at 1:26 am

Postby |PoRn| Profess0r » Jan 4th, 2006 at 12:12 am

Clueless, but I know doughnuts are yummy..

User avatar
Jeng
Elite Member
Posts: 1360
Joined: Nov 16th, 2005 at 6:16 pm

Postby Jeng » Jan 11th, 2006 at 7:57 pm

pyrox420 wrote:Or you can do an install from the web repository. You just need the first disk. Example:
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=50221
That's what i've done for the last 3 distro installs.


Looks interesting, I may end up doing that, will just have to figure out how to do it since I'm pretty much a newb, woohoo.

Been reading and reading since my last attempt, when I was searching for distros on bit torret I ran across an iso of a disk with many orielly books on it, so been reading Running Linux 4th edition, also did a more thoughough search of my problem.

http://www.linuxcompatible.org/Installa ... 33426.html

Yep, looks like I need to replace the cd-rom if I can't figure out how to get a net install going.
I really need to change this sig

User avatar
pyrox420
Elite Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Nov 4th, 2004 at 5:42 pm

Postby pyrox420 » Jan 12th, 2006 at 9:46 am

Do the net install... it's just too easy. :) If you need help send me a PM of a time you want to meet on IRC and i'll help you out.
"You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with until you understand who's in ruttin' command here". - Jayne

User avatar
DocNsane
Moderator
Posts: 863
Joined: Sep 16th, 2002 at 9:20 pm

Postby DocNsane » Jan 19th, 2006 at 2:42 am

Image

User avatar
pyrox420
Elite Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Nov 4th, 2004 at 5:42 pm

Postby pyrox420 » Jan 19th, 2006 at 9:17 am

Fedora for life. Fuck knopp.
"You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with until you understand who's in ruttin' command here". - Jayne

User avatar
DocNsane
Moderator
Posts: 863
Joined: Sep 16th, 2002 at 9:20 pm

Postby DocNsane » Jan 23rd, 2006 at 2:45 am

Oh noes! Gheyhat!
Image

User avatar
Jeng
Elite Member
Posts: 1360
Joined: Nov 16th, 2005 at 6:16 pm

Postby Jeng » Mar 18th, 2006 at 2:10 pm

pyrox420 wrote:Uhm... yea, check the burner too and the cd-rom. And the disk type.. or bios settings (but i can't think of any off the top of my head...)


Bios setting I just changed under advanced ( yea been awhile since I messed with this )

Installed O/S: changed from Win2k to Other (who would have guessed) :lol:
Large Disk Access Mode: changed form DOS to Other

Getting much further along now, I have LiveCD boot, time to get going on doing the install.

Ubuntu 5.04, useing Gnoppix.
I really need to change this sig

User avatar
Jeng
Elite Member
Posts: 1360
Joined: Nov 16th, 2005 at 6:16 pm

Postby Jeng » Mar 18th, 2006 at 10:14 pm

Ok, still no love with the actual Install.

During the Install Base System step it tends to fail at either 30% or 60%, depends on how lucky I am.

Tried the expert install, I noticed that a network install is an option there (damn easy configure for it also), problem is though that before it can do the network install it appears to still need to install the Base System step which is the one I can't get past :?

Loaded Live back up so that I could look at the error logs from the install that were saved on the hard drive. Turns out the Live cd doesn't mount the HD at all, and I can't locate an option to mount it. Nice little WTF moment there :evil:

Time to try out some more options.
I really need to change this sig

User avatar
pyrox420
Elite Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Nov 4th, 2004 at 5:42 pm

Postby pyrox420 » Mar 19th, 2006 at 2:01 pm

Are you trying fedora? or ubuntu? I have no expereince with ubuntu... but i do want to load it up on my test system.
"You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with until you understand who's in ruttin' command here". - Jayne

User avatar
Jeng
Elite Member
Posts: 1360
Joined: Nov 16th, 2005 at 6:16 pm

Postby Jeng » Mar 19th, 2006 at 2:50 pm

ubuntu

going off of a single cd is nice, but looks like I may just breakdown and do the fedora net install next time I mess with it.

Seems like the cd-rom works just fine for awhile, then it slowly craps out. The longer I try, the faster the errors pop up.
I really need to change this sig

User avatar
Jeng
Elite Member
Posts: 1360
Joined: Nov 16th, 2005 at 6:16 pm

Postby Jeng » Mar 21st, 2006 at 3:34 pm

Ok,

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=50221 = Confuseing as ALLL HELLLL

http://fedora.lsu.edu/install.php = oh hell, my mom could do that pffft.

Net install going as I type, looking real real nice :D

Fedora definatly seems alot easier to install than the others, cd-rom issues aside, no harder than windows, add on the net install feature and wow this is cake. /knock on wood /cross fingers.

Hopefully the install will be done when I get back from the store.

btw, thanks everyone
I really need to change this sig

User avatar
pyrox420
Elite Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Nov 4th, 2004 at 5:42 pm

Postby pyrox420 » Mar 21st, 2006 at 4:18 pm

Thanks for that LSU link! :) I'll pass that around to people when they need to do something like this.
"You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with until you understand who's in ruttin' command here". - Jayne

User avatar
Jeng
Elite Member
Posts: 1360
Joined: Nov 16th, 2005 at 6:16 pm

Postby Jeng » Mar 24th, 2006 at 5:47 pm

Did core 3, looks like there's a bug with it regarding my video card makeing it unuseable, the temporary fix that I found was to disable video acceleration, but I don't know where to do that. Err how to get into the where or whatever to do it.
http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showth ... 810+worked

So going to wipe and go to core 2.
I really need to change this sig

User avatar
Jeng
Elite Member
Posts: 1360
Joined: Nov 16th, 2005 at 6:16 pm

Postby Jeng » Mar 24th, 2006 at 6:05 pm

Damn, links are down, perhaps when they have the net install up for core 4 that might work.
I really need to change this sig

User avatar
pyrox420
Elite Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Nov 4th, 2004 at 5:42 pm

Postby pyrox420 » Mar 24th, 2006 at 6:27 pm

do core 5 with the net install. Works like a charm for me.
"You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with until you understand who's in ruttin' command here". - Jayne

User avatar
Jeng
Elite Member
Posts: 1360
Joined: Nov 16th, 2005 at 6:16 pm

Postby Jeng » Apr 9th, 2006 at 12:37 pm

Problem with doing the fedora net install is well, it looks complicated.

Gotta locate and assemble the base package your going to boot up with, have to know the web address or IP address of the rest of the files your going to use. For someone who doesn't know what they're doing like myself its complex. So I went out yesterday to a store nearby that sells used computer parts, picked up a new to me cd-rom drive for a little under $6 so I could do the full fedora core 5 install, all 5 or so disks.

Things didn't quite go as planned though, cause well I'm lazy. I did some more searches for "fedora core 5 net install" and variations, coming up fairly empty. Did some searches for "Linux net install" and came across something that worked like a charm in the ubuntu forums.

http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/ ... t/mini.iso

Easy as pie instal, enter, enter, enter, yes, enter. Only thing was choose the canadian server instead of the american one, for some reason the american one is corrupt :shock:

So I now have my very own little linux desktop machine to fool around with :D
Downloaded and installed updates, along with some more programs.
Tossed in 3 network cards to eventually use it as my nat.
I really need to change this sig


Return to “*nix”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests