UNIX question

Unix/Linux users rejoice! This forum is just for you.

Moderators: EatMoreLead, Suck.

User avatar
rekloose-[PUPPY]
Elite Member
Posts: 4182
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 11:38 pm

UNIX question

Postby rekloose-[PUPPY] » Aug 21st, 2003 at 5:21 pm

ok, I'm getting a pII 400 mhz machine and I want to set up a flavor of unix/linux. I have some experience w/the nix environment but would like recomendations on what I should go with. Mandrake/Red Hat/etc

-PUPPY

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Aug 21st, 2003 at 5:26 pm

Red Hat 9.0

User avatar
DocNsane
Moderator
Posts: 863
Joined: Sep 16th, 2002 at 9:20 pm

Postby DocNsane » Aug 22nd, 2003 at 6:25 am

Fuck Gayhat 9.0

Go with mandrake if you are a newbie..otherwise go with a version of slackware or debian. You HAVE to know what you are doing if you are using those distros though.

What is the purpose of this box? if it's going to be a router, there are some really good distros that can fit on a floppy disk that are specificaly designed for that sorta thing.

User avatar
rekloose-[PUPPY]
Elite Member
Posts: 4182
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 11:38 pm

Postby rekloose-[PUPPY] » Aug 22nd, 2003 at 9:21 am

gonna run apache on it. I'm not a total unix n00b. also want to use it to test perl scripts and maybe put a MySQL DB on there. I'm thinking of going with Mandrake.

- PUPPY

User avatar
rekloose-[PUPPY]
Elite Member
Posts: 4182
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 11:38 pm

Postby rekloose-[PUPPY] » Aug 22nd, 2003 at 11:17 am

Also, what about FreeBSD? Right now I'm between Mandrake and FreeBSD.

-PUPPY

User avatar
DocNsane
Moderator
Posts: 863
Joined: Sep 16th, 2002 at 9:20 pm

Postby DocNsane » Aug 23rd, 2003 at 2:12 am

http://people.freebsd.org/~murray/bsd_flier.html

Differences between FreeBSD/Linux/Windows

User avatar
rekloose-[PUPPY]
Elite Member
Posts: 4182
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 11:38 pm

Postby rekloose-[PUPPY] » Aug 23rd, 2003 at 3:03 am

So, Doc, what are you saying?

-PUPPY

User avatar
DocNsane
Moderator
Posts: 863
Joined: Sep 16th, 2002 at 9:20 pm

Postby DocNsane » Aug 24th, 2003 at 2:25 am

FreeBSD = goot ;)

Though my experience with it is somewhat limited since all the machines at work are geyhat 9.0

I don't run a *nix box at home right now b/c i'm too lazy to set it up for dual booting so i can have my games and my unix.

User avatar
rekloose-[PUPPY]
Elite Member
Posts: 4182
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 11:38 pm

Postby rekloose-[PUPPY] » Aug 24th, 2003 at 9:29 pm

going with FreeBSD.

gonna run a webserver. k2, what did you use to redirect HF when you were hosting it yourself? is there a free service?

-PUPPY

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Aug 25th, 2003 at 12:23 am

It's all in the setup... of course you wont have IIS on freebsd. Also, you can do some dns configuring with your registrar to make a redirect happen.

User avatar
rekloose-[PUPPY]
Elite Member
Posts: 4182
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 11:38 pm

Postby rekloose-[PUPPY] » Aug 25th, 2003 at 12:55 am

no k2, what i mean is I don't have a static IP .. what service did you use to redirect hf.org to your box?

(btw I know unix isn't IIS ... I'm a gonna be usin apache...)

-PUPPY

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Aug 25th, 2003 at 1:18 am

Heh... I didnt. I HAD a static IP ;) Might try looking into a dynamic DNS service... UMAX had one for their ugate router/firewall users.

User avatar
rekloose-[PUPPY]
Elite Member
Posts: 4182
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 11:38 pm

Postby rekloose-[PUPPY] » Aug 25th, 2003 at 2:10 pm

OK, If I install Mandrake it's developed for i586 processors and above. My pentiumIII qualifies, right?

-PUPPY

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Aug 25th, 2003 at 4:48 pm

Yup.

User avatar
rekloose-[PUPPY]
Elite Member
Posts: 4182
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 11:38 pm

Postby rekloose-[PUPPY] » Aug 25th, 2003 at 4:54 pm

ok ... looking towards installing slackware instead of mandrake now ,,,

User avatar
rekloose-[PUPPY]
Elite Member
Posts: 4182
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 11:38 pm

Postby rekloose-[PUPPY] » Aug 26th, 2003 at 12:54 am

OMFG .. Mandrake runs so slow on my computer I may go with redhat .. damn

PIII 533mhz 128mb of RAM. it should be screaming, even running kde

-PUPPY

User avatar
DocNsane
Moderator
Posts: 863
Joined: Sep 16th, 2002 at 9:20 pm

Postby DocNsane » Aug 26th, 2003 at 1:18 am

Easy solution..don't run KDE
And most definately don't run that Gnome shit.

www.windowmaker.org

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Aug 26th, 2003 at 4:46 am

I'm gonna install redhat 9.0 on my 2U just to piss you off Doc ;)

User avatar
Deleted User
*poof*
Posts: 7507
Joined: Jul 13th, 2006 at 3:41 am

Postby Deleted User » Sep 11th, 2003 at 1:32 pm

Yea I got to go with a guiless install of RH9. I tried Mandrake and it was really slow on my PIII 600mhz, I also did BSD but it does not have all the options of Linux. I really suggest RH for a basic web server. if its just something for you to mess around with. RH comes w/ apache, mysql, perl, php built into the install. Good Luck.


Return to “*nix”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest