Vista SP1 release - Feb 4th

Anything created by Bill Gates falls under this category. Having problems with your windows operating system? Here ya go.

Moderators: EatMoreLead, Suck.

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Vista SP1 release - Feb 4th

Postby K2 » Feb 3rd, 2008 at 2:35 am

Have a read - http://www.techarp.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=505

Will be interesting to see the performace benchmarks vs. XP once Vista SP1 comes out.

User avatar
Catharsys
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Mar 2nd, 2005 at 12:57 am

Postby Catharsys » Feb 3rd, 2008 at 4:14 am

yay!

User avatar
Oreo
l33t scr1pt0r
Posts: 1191
Joined: Jan 1st, 2005 at 3:49 pm

Postby Oreo » Feb 21st, 2008 at 10:02 pm

It works quite well.

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Feb 22nd, 2008 at 4:15 am

It's not being pushed out via windows update until March. MS had identified some issues with it that were wreaking havok with certain driver combinations.

There's also been recent reports that one of the pre-req updates you need to install before installing SP1 has caused some serious unrecoverable reboot loop problems on some people's machines. So just be careful if you try to use SP1 now (it's possble to get it other than thru windows update right now).

All of the issues I have listed, MS is aware of, and they plan to have fixes for all that plus some before the windows update roll out.

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Feb 27th, 2008 at 11:09 am

Very good read on what you can expect from Vista SP1 vs Vista RTM vs XP SP2 - http://www.anandtech.com/systems/showdo ... i=3233&p=1

AND, you can get Vista Ultimate now for around 190 bucks - http://www.pricewatch.com/software_oper ... timate.htm

User avatar
Oreo
l33t scr1pt0r
Posts: 1191
Joined: Jan 1st, 2005 at 3:49 pm

Postby Oreo » Mar 20th, 2008 at 8:10 pm

It's out now, check your windows update or surf to microsoft.com and search the downloads.

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Mar 20th, 2008 at 9:03 pm

FYI - if you have other language packs installed other than default (English), SP1 will not show up under windows update, nor will the stand-alone SP1 file install until you remove the extra language packs.

User avatar
Catharsys
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Mar 2nd, 2005 at 12:57 am

Postby Catharsys » Mar 20th, 2008 at 10:49 pm

Had to uninstall my RC SP1 before I could install the new.


Return to “win32/64”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest