Vista Ultimate

Anything created by Bill Gates falls under this category. Having problems with your windows operating system? Here ya go.

Moderators: EatMoreLead, Suck.

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Vista Ultimate

Postby K2 » Feb 1st, 2007 at 3:20 pm

I just returned with a copy of Vista Ultimate full version. Got it for under $400 tax-free (gotta love the PX :P ). I'm backing shit up now, and will start in on a clean install. I'll let ya know how it goes.

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Feb 1st, 2007 at 6:26 pm

OK. Let's just say that so far, I am loving Vista. The new Aero desktop is like a breath of fresh air. The 'gadgets' in the sidebar are a really neat idea; it reminds me a LOT of the info panels on the HF website. The RSS newsfeed gadget is really cool, although I wish I had more options than just MSNBC. Maybe I havent looked hard enough yet. I like the clock and the pic slideshow thing too.

The skin for the new desktop is really sleek. And windows really ARe windows, heh. The frame around each one, it's see-through, like you're actually looking thru a window. Neat.

Install was too easy, and only took about 35 min. It found drivers for my soundcard and vid card right away.

I have a lot of playing around and digging to do (I am really curious as to what windows defender does exactly, even tho I have a good idea as to what). The real test will be games support obviously ;)

More to come...

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Feb 1st, 2007 at 8:44 pm

Windows Media Center... wow. I dunno if this was how it was with the XP version. But having this exclusive to Vista Ultimate, I can understand the cost increase. This effectively replaces 3rd party DVD playback software that you'd spend anywhere from 50-100 bucks on. I am really impressed with the playback and the features. There was some tearing of the image in fullscreen mode, but this went away after installing updated drivers for my vid card.

Task Manager got a complete overhaul. Much more informative... it'll show you what services are running as well as processes, and it will also show you what services those processes tie into. You'll also notice a new button called 'Resource Monitor' - another 'wow'. CPU/disk read and writes/memory/network usage, all at a glance.

I'm installing NWN2 now, we'll see how we do with games and one of the first drivers released for Vista.

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Feb 3rd, 2007 at 9:29 pm

Check out the Windows Live Gallery - http://gallery.live.com/results.aspx?l=1

Tons of custom-made gadgets for Vista. I'd stick with those made on 1/30/2007 and newer, as others were made for RC versions of Vista and may not work properly with the RTM version. I've already grabbed a couple myself. There's a game server monitor gadget you can use to view your fav game servers status at a glance. Neat stuff. I'm waiting for a decent iTunes gadget and a Trillian IM gadget.

User avatar
Jeng
Elite Member
Posts: 1360
Joined: Nov 16th, 2005 at 6:16 pm

Postby Jeng » Feb 3rd, 2007 at 11:29 pm

First you might want to wait for Vista to not kill Ipods.

http://apple.slashdot.org/article.pl?si ... 03/1852245

Apple is cautioning its Windows-using iTunes customers to steer clear of Vista until the next iTunes update. The reason for this is a bit puzzling. Apparently, if you try to 'safely remove' your iPod from a Vista-installed PC, there's a chance you may corrupt the little music player. They also claim that songs may not play, and contacts may not sync with the device.


http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=305042
I really need to change this sig

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Feb 4th, 2007 at 1:00 am

Goddammit... I havent hooked up my ipod yet. Thx for the link and info.

User avatar
Jahiliyya
Senior Member
Posts: 648
Joined: Feb 22nd, 2005 at 9:05 pm

Postby Jahiliyya » Feb 12th, 2007 at 10:25 pm

K2,

What's the verdict on the iPod?

You had one of the 80Gb video iPods right?....that's what I have but don't want to move to Vista unless I know that it's not gonna spaz out.
There's a blip that hovers that city that can see thry anything, like x-ray, they can see everything you do. ~Keyser

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Feb 12th, 2007 at 10:46 pm

you want me to be the guinea pig on a brand new ipod? lol :D

I'll let ya know after further research. Last I heard, as long as you use the eject feature within itunes to disconnect your ipod instead of using the 'safely remove hardware' feature with Vista, you'll be OK.

User avatar
Burzum
Benefactor
Posts: 4291
Joined: Oct 21st, 2004 at 1:05 pm

Postby Burzum » Feb 13th, 2007 at 8:26 am

MC 11 is available to the XP crowd. After switching back to XP Pro from Vista that was the first thing I missed. I'll go back to Vista sometime this year but it will be with new hardware. My old junk didn't like it and Vista locked me out of my system :(
Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup.

User avatar
KillerClown
Senior Member
Posts: 759
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 8:39 pm

Postby KillerClown » Feb 15th, 2007 at 2:04 pm

StumbleUpon'd this earlier, might help some with driver issues they may still have.

http://www.radarsync.com/vista/
"Truth is treason in the empire of lies." - Ron Paul

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Feb 16th, 2007 at 7:31 pm

Jahiliyya wrote:K2,

What's the verdict on the iPod?

You had one of the 80Gb video iPods right?....that's what I have but don't want to move to Vista unless I know that it's not gonna spaz out.


Just confirmed - you can hook your ipod to itunes within Vista and disconnect it without any issues so long as you eject it via iTunes and NOT the 'safely remove hardware' method thru Vista.

User avatar
G$
Benefactor
Posts: 499
Joined: Oct 20th, 2004 at 12:56 pm

Postby G$ » Mar 4th, 2007 at 10:24 pm

Since my gaming time is severely stifled by my new arrival I moved my pc into the living room, added an HD tuner, and am using it for a broadcast HD tuner and DVR. I finally got a hack online to get my remote wonder plus working and all is happy in Vista land.

User avatar
Miracl3
Senior Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Mar 25th, 2006 at 8:51 am

Postby Miracl3 » Nov 23rd, 2007 at 1:18 pm

just installed vista ultimate...i like it but its diff

User avatar
Miracl3
Senior Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Mar 25th, 2006 at 8:51 am

Postby Miracl3 » Nov 24th, 2007 at 8:00 pm

fuck that uninstalled it lol couldnt find the drivers n shit for my processor. The damn OS kept locking up my pc without the drivers.

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Nov 24th, 2007 at 10:03 pm

Couldnt find drivers for your cpu... are you kidding me? It's either intel or amd. rofl...

User avatar
Catharsys
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Mar 2nd, 2005 at 12:57 am

Postby Catharsys » Nov 24th, 2007 at 10:45 pm

I'm waiting for SP1. Have a copy for 35 bucks! Yay knowing students.

User avatar
Miracl3
Senior Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Mar 25th, 2006 at 8:51 am

Postby Miracl3 » Nov 24th, 2007 at 11:06 pm

K2 wrote:Couldnt find drivers for your cpu... are you kidding me? It's either intel or amd. rofl...
actually i couldnt find em for 915 prescott. maybe one of u techies could find em for me.

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Nov 25th, 2007 at 12:11 am

It;s the chipset for the mainboard, not for the cpu.

here's your link - http://downloadcenter.intel.com/filter_ ... bmit=Go%21 - click on #2

EDIT - you may have to copy/paste the entire link in a new tab/window.

User avatar
Mouser
Elite Member
Posts: 1633
Joined: Dec 12th, 2004 at 8:34 pm

Postby Mouser » Nov 25th, 2007 at 1:42 am

Are the drivers 100% efficient? :twisted:

User avatar
Miracl3
Senior Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Mar 25th, 2006 at 8:51 am

Postby Miracl3 » Nov 25th, 2007 at 7:42 am

whatever cockboy.
Last edited by Miracl3 on Nov 25th, 2007 at 7:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Miracl3
Senior Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Mar 25th, 2006 at 8:51 am

Postby Miracl3 » Nov 25th, 2007 at 7:43 am

K2 wrote:It;s the chipset for the mainboard, not for the cpu.

here's your link - http://downloadcenter.intel.com/filter_ ... bmit=Go%21 - click on #2

EDIT - you may have to copy/paste the entire link in a new tab/window.
ty i knew it was for the chipset. the mainboard is a ABIT AG8-V Socket LGA775. And i went to the page before but it said advanced users have to install so i was like fuck it. Figured it was just the source and i had to compile it or some shit.

User avatar
Catharsys
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Mar 2nd, 2005 at 12:57 am

Postby Catharsys » Dec 2nd, 2007 at 9:25 pm

Just installed it on my yearly reformat. Interesting I must say.

User avatar
EatMoreLead
Benefactor
Posts: 4406
Joined: Sep 17th, 2002 at 11:59 pm

Postby EatMoreLead » Dec 2nd, 2007 at 10:40 pm

so I hear XP sp2 runs faster than vista - what is point of upgrade?
EatMoreLead aka EML

User avatar
Catharsys
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Mar 2nd, 2005 at 12:57 am

Postby Catharsys » Dec 2nd, 2007 at 11:24 pm

SP3 has a 10% boost. I have them both, was 35 bucks (student), so why not.

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Dec 3rd, 2007 at 12:58 am

sp1 for Vista will fix the performance issues in several areas - beta testers already have the prelim patch. Personally, my install of vista has been running fine. Some things are slower right now than on XP, but it hasnt been significant.

XP was like that too until it's first service pack.


Return to “win32/64”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest