IE7 Here?

Anything created by Bill Gates falls under this category. Having problems with your windows operating system? Here ya go.

Moderators: EatMoreLead, Suck.

User avatar
sX
Elite Member
Posts: 1302
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:11 pm

IE7 Here?

Postby sX » Oct 19th, 2006 at 5:27 am

Comments?

~sX
(o )^( o) Tetas.

User avatar
Oreo
l33t scr1pt0r
Posts: 1191
Joined: Jan 1st, 2005 at 3:49 pm

Postby Oreo » Oct 19th, 2006 at 6:26 am

Uh, are you asking if people use the beta or are you saying the final version is done?

User avatar
Burzum
Benefactor
Posts: 4291
Joined: Oct 21st, 2004 at 1:05 pm

Postby Burzum » Oct 19th, 2006 at 7:50 am

I use the Beta. I have since Beta 2 and I LOVE it.
Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup.

User avatar
sX
Elite Member
Posts: 1302
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:11 pm

Postby sX » Oct 19th, 2006 at 8:10 am

According to Microsoft.com, it's been released Wednesday.
(o )^( o) Tetas.

User avatar
pyrox420
Elite Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Nov 4th, 2004 at 5:42 pm

Postby pyrox420 » Oct 19th, 2006 at 9:32 am

Yea, it was released this morning. Nothing different between the beta's and the real version. to install it though requires 3 reboots. Lovely eh?
"You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with until you understand who's in ruttin' command here". - Jayne

User avatar
pyrox420
Elite Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Nov 4th, 2004 at 5:42 pm

Postby pyrox420 » Oct 19th, 2006 at 9:33 am

Also... for all the IE fanboys let's not forget to mention that it's not even been 24 hours and a vulnerability is already found. :)

http://secunia.com/advisories/22477/
"You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with until you understand who's in ruttin' command here". - Jayne

User avatar
Oreo
l33t scr1pt0r
Posts: 1191
Joined: Jan 1st, 2005 at 3:49 pm

Postby Oreo » Oct 19th, 2006 at 8:35 pm

It seems ok. Im going to have to organize it a little bit before I like it. But the new design is pretty streamlined. Seems like you get more space to view the page than having a large top of the screen if you know what I mean. So far so good though.


btw, it was only 1 reboot for me, and that was after installation...

User avatar
KillerClown
Senior Member
Posts: 759
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 8:39 pm

Postby KillerClown » Oct 20th, 2006 at 12:09 am

It is pretty nice, coming to about the level that firefox has been on, with the tabs.
Personally I like FireFox slightly more for right now because there are a lot of useful add-ons/extensions available for it, where IE7 only has a few right now. FF also has a skinnable interface, where IE is more based on your windows theme, etc.
I still use IE for anything Microsoft (Hotmail/Windows/Live, etc). But mostly I use FireFox, with the NoScript addon it makes me feel at least slightly more secure.

Was only 1 reboot for me also, I reformatted last weekend, installed IE7 onto basically a fully windows-updated XP SP2 about 5 minutes ago.
Last edited by KillerClown on Oct 20th, 2006 at 12:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
"Truth is treason in the empire of lies." - Ron Paul

User avatar
KillerClown
Senior Member
Posts: 759
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 8:39 pm

Postby KillerClown » Oct 20th, 2006 at 12:40 am

pyrox420 wrote:Also... for all the IE fanboys let's not forget to mention that it's not even been 24 hours and a vulnerability is already found. :)

http://secunia.com/advisories/22477/


lol

Seriously how long after the last release of FF do you really think it took someone to find a vulnerability in it?

You know that 4 out of 7 current known vulnerabilities for FF 1.5.0.7 are listed as..
Critical: Vulnerability can be used to run attacker code and install software, requiring no user interaction beyond normal browsing.

And 1.5.0.7 was released over a month ago.

I think it's kind of funny how a lot of you on here act as if one of these 2 major browsers is really THAT much better than the other, cause neither really are, both have critical vulnerabilities, until 1 is 100% secured down and the other isn't, then the only thing left to choose between which of the 2 is really better, is user preference, do you like the skinnable/highly extendable FireFox...Or do you prefer the stream-lined IE, either way, someone can hack your shit. lol
"Truth is treason in the empire of lies." - Ron Paul

User avatar
Jeng
Elite Member
Posts: 1360
Joined: Nov 16th, 2005 at 6:16 pm

Postby Jeng » Oct 20th, 2006 at 1:51 am

Going out on a limb and guessing that its not available for win2k?

Just hit up the windows update site, and no IE7 love for win2k that I saw.
I really need to change this sig

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7114
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Oct 20th, 2006 at 2:11 am

I'm pretty sure you need winxp sp2 as a minimum to run IE7.

Just downloaded and installed it - much better than the first beta I tried several months ago. No cookie issues either w/ our msgboard.

Looking up how to make IE7 open web links in a new tab rather than a new window...

User avatar
Oreo
l33t scr1pt0r
Posts: 1191
Joined: Jan 1st, 2005 at 3:49 pm

Postby Oreo » Oct 20th, 2006 at 3:58 am

hold down ctrl then click the link. shift makes a new brower, ctrl is a new tab.

I've been looking for a way to make popups automatically just go to a new tab, but no luck yet. I wish I could hold down ctrl and click on my favorite links too and open them in new tabs, but they open in the already created window. So i have to click the new tab button then click on a link, that's kinda annoying.

User avatar
Burzum
Benefactor
Posts: 4291
Joined: Oct 21st, 2004 at 1:05 pm

Postby Burzum » Oct 20th, 2006 at 7:58 am

Middle click on a link to open it in a new tab as well. That's what us cool kids do 8)
Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup.

User avatar
rekloose-[PUPPY]
Elite Member
Posts: 4182
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 11:38 pm

Postby rekloose-[PUPPY] » Oct 20th, 2006 at 8:07 am

Oreo wrote:I've been looking for a way to make popups automatically just go to a new tab, but no luck yet. I wish I could hold down ctrl and click on my favorite links too and open them in new tabs, but they open in the already created window. So i have to click the new tab button then click on a link, that's kinda annoying.


maxthon :)

User avatar
Oreo
l33t scr1pt0r
Posts: 1191
Joined: Jan 1st, 2005 at 3:49 pm

Postby Oreo » Oct 20th, 2006 at 3:49 pm

Hey thanks for the idea burzum. Middle clicking actually works on my favorite links and puts them in a new tab. Great!!!!

User avatar
KillerClown
Senior Member
Posts: 759
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 8:39 pm

Postby KillerClown » Oct 20th, 2006 at 4:42 pm

Have you not looked at Internet Options? On the first tab there is a button for Tab/Settings, which include opening web links in a new window or new tab, also an option for how IE should handle pop-ups, new tab or window.
"Truth is treason in the empire of lies." - Ron Paul

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7114
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Oct 20th, 2006 at 9:27 pm

Some of those options dont seem to work KC :?

User avatar
KillerClown
Senior Member
Posts: 759
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 8:39 pm

Postby KillerClown » Oct 22nd, 2006 at 1:39 am

:|
Everything has been working perfect for me as far as how I've set my options.
"Truth is treason in the empire of lies." - Ron Paul

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7114
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Oct 22nd, 2006 at 1:57 am

This is my tabbed browsing settings:

Image

Any links I click on, creates a new instance of IE, unless I ctrl+click or right-click and select 'open in new tab'.

Am I missing something?

User avatar
KillerClown
Senior Member
Posts: 759
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 8:39 pm

Postby KillerClown » Oct 22nd, 2006 at 7:03 am

Weird :o Same settings I have but links that would open in a new window open in a tab now for me fine. :/
"Truth is treason in the empire of lies." - Ron Paul

User avatar
Oreo
l33t scr1pt0r
Posts: 1191
Joined: Jan 1st, 2005 at 3:49 pm

Postby Oreo » Oct 22nd, 2006 at 7:11 am

I have to open a new tab, before middle clicking on links in the link bar will work. Then it only opens one extra before I have to open a new tab for another link.

This is using the links bar at the top of the screen and not the links button. Links from the left hand side menu will work, just not the top title bar.

User avatar
Phoenix
Elite Member
Posts: 1980
Joined: Nov 24th, 2004 at 3:13 pm

Postby Phoenix » Oct 22nd, 2006 at 11:29 pm

Meh, I don't like the look so much. I still like the fire fox look better, and the tabs for it bug me in that the close button isn't seen as easily as I might like. Oh well minor stuff that shouldn't make a huge difference. I'll stick with FF, but this is a step in the right direction for IE.
Former HF clan member, server admin, all around troll

"You don't do things right once-in-a-while. You do them right all the time."- Vince Lombardi

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7114
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Nov 13th, 2006 at 7:59 am

OK, I figured out how to make IE7 open all links in a new tab without having to right-click, or keying something beforehand...

Up above in an earlier post, in the image I posted, where it says 'when a pop-up is encountered:' - that's not just for pop-ups, it's for anything that opens in a browser instance. Set it to 'Let IE decide...', and you're good to go.

Found this by accident ;)


Return to “win32/64”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests