Show off your mining rig

Discussion about digital currencies (Bitcoin and other alternatives), creating, trading markets, mining pools - all can be discussed here.

Moderator: ArcticWolfie

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Show off your mining rig

Postby K2 » Mar 1st, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Got a mining rig and want to show it off? Post it here.

Ideas of what to show pictures of: hardware, screenshot showing hashing rates, your new and improved electric bill, and so on. Use the 'upload attachment' tab at the bottom to upload pics here if you don't or can't store them off-site.

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby K2 » Mar 3rd, 2014 at 10:33 am

Well hey I'll go first... :)

These are the ASICMiner Block Erupter cubes I used to own until just recently:

IMG_0050.JPG
ASICMiner Cubes
IMG_0050.JPG (3.03 MiB) Viewed 9687 times


Sold them on eBay a few days ago, upgrading the hardware to something that hashes more and uses less power. These babies served me well though, mined over 200 PPC and heated the basement and partially the living room to boot.

Current scrypt coin rig:

IMG_0053.JPG
XFX R9 290
IMG_0053.JPG (2.51 MiB) Viewed 9687 times


IMG_0054.JPG
Dual R9 290's
IMG_0054.JPG (2.65 MiB) Viewed 9687 times


Got a couple XFX R9 290's hashing away on various scrypt-based coins and converting them to bitcoin. Now that the gridseeds are out, I may swap these for an array of them... it's all about power consumption. If I keep these, I'd like to grab a third card and an open-air frame to house them in.

User avatar
ArcticWolfie
Fresh Meat
Posts: 2
Joined: Feb 19th, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby ArcticWolfie » Mar 3rd, 2014 at 10:42 am

my high performance rig! :shock: (... but very cool anyway)
2 yellowjackets @ 2,4Gh/s each.

Image

User avatar
Duncan3
Fresh Meat
Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 3rd, 2014 at 1:43 pm

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby Duncan3 » Mar 3rd, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Very cool guys! Post mine soon....

User avatar
click
Fresh Meat
Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 20th, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby click » Mar 6th, 2014 at 11:24 am

photo (6).JPG
photo (6).JPG (1.96 MiB) Viewed 9671 times

mine and JSP's setup in my basement...m0ar soon to come!

User avatar
TheBackRoads
Fresh Meat
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 20th, 2014 at 11:45 am

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby TheBackRoads » Mar 6th, 2014 at 11:42 am

Let's not forget about the cubes Click!
Attachments
cubes.JPG
cubes.JPG (739.84 KiB) Viewed 9666 times

User avatar
awgilyas
Fresh Meat
Posts: 1
Joined: Mar 2nd, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby awgilyas » Mar 6th, 2014 at 1:13 pm

My very unorganized setup

Image

User avatar
BeerPimp
Fresh Meat
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 22nd, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby BeerPimp » Mar 7th, 2014 at 11:00 pm

Here is my Gridseed 300-350kh/s at 9 watts and 3/4 of the mini mining rig i bought off ebay for $182 shipped. (I really just wanted an Anker hub). Hard to pass up 21BE, 7gh/s Jalapeno, 9+1 anker hub, and 2 x 7 port dlink hubs for that price. I will probably sell the BE for more than that price LOL. The other 1/4 which is the 2 dlink hubs and 12 BE I let a friend borrow for a week. Seeing if I can get him hooked on crypto coins.


User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby K2 » Mar 11th, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Got rid of cubes, now have a pair of Antminer S1's, with more coming later on...

IMG_0095.JPG
IMG_0095.JPG (2.62 MiB) Viewed 9633 times


IMG_0096.JPG
IMG_0096.JPG (2.41 MiB) Viewed 9633 times


IMG_0098.JPG
IMG_0098.JPG (2.9 MiB) Viewed 9633 times

User avatar
TheBackRoads
Fresh Meat
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 20th, 2014 at 11:45 am

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby TheBackRoads » Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:30 pm

New pictures from Click and Myself! Another S1, 1 more to go! 8)

Image


Image

User avatar
click
Fresh Meat
Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 20th, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby click » Mar 14th, 2014 at 7:12 pm

nothing like HP switches for shelves lol :)

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby K2 » Mar 17th, 2014 at 4:32 pm

S1's numbers 3 and 4 showed up today. Decided to route everything over to a shelf. Took some doing to route some cat5 over and do cable management. Gonna need one more 4 port dumb switch when I get to numbers 7 and 8, but everything is setup and ready to go with room to spare. Plus this keeps everything out of reach of my 2 year old :D

IMG_0104.JPG
IMG_0104.JPG (2.63 MiB) Viewed 9590 times

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby K2 » Apr 3rd, 2014 at 6:15 pm

Now with six S1's and two more coming eventually, it was time to start actively removing excess heat from my basement, especially with spring here and the temps are starting to rise outside.

I obtained another shelf to go in front of the 2nd window in my basement and will transfer all of the S1's there. I also purchased a 4' by 8' by 1.75" piece of rigid ISO insulation and cut two identical pieces to fit into the window opening. Cut a rectangular opening in both pieces and fit in a 3x 120mm rackmount fan enclosure - this will pull all of the hot air outside, and it'll be placed directly in-line with the shelf the S1's will be sitting on. I spray painted the outside of the outer insulation piece a matte black. All fans together move 315 CFM, should be enough to transfer the volume of air in my basement about once every 10 minutes or so.

Pics...

IMG_0109.JPG
inside
IMG_0109.JPG (2.34 MiB) Viewed 9543 times


IMG_0107.JPG
outside
IMG_0107.JPG (2.23 MiB) Viewed 9543 times


Hopefully this works as intended :)

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby K2 » Apr 4th, 2014 at 3:24 pm

Phases two and three are complete. Got the new shelf setup (phase two) and got the power and cat5e cable routed (phase 3). All that's left to do is to move all the hardware over. Gonna do that next week since I have drill this weekend and wont be around.

More pics:

IMG_0110.JPG
shelf
IMG_0110.JPG (2.74 MiB) Viewed 9532 times


IMG_0111.JPG
area where S1's will go
IMG_0111.JPG (2.41 MiB) Viewed 9532 times


IMG_0112.JPG
cables ran along the ceiling rafters
IMG_0112.JPG (2.25 MiB) Viewed 9532 times

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby K2 » Apr 11th, 2014 at 2:22 pm

I finally got all my S1's transferred to the new shelf, they've been running for a few days now. Turned out just having them there on the shelf wasn't going to cut it - the exhaust fan was pulling out hot air, but too much of it was escaping and going out into the basement, making it even warmer than before. So what I've done now is to block off the top, back and sides to kind of channel the hot air to the exhaust fan. It's working somewhat - more hot air is being moved outside, but some is now leaking out the front of the shelf. So my next step is just enclose that shelf completely and just leave room for the S1's intake fans. The basement is cooler now than before overall, but only by a degree or two. Once the last two S1's arrive, I'll enclose the entire thing and we'll see how it goes.

Also, I am double-stacking the S1's in pairs, secured with zip ties. They actually run cooler this way. Pics below...

IMG_0113.JPG
Six S1's mining away
IMG_0113.JPG (2.64 MiB) Viewed 9513 times


IMG_0115.JPG
Close up of dbl-stack
IMG_0115.JPG (2.53 MiB) Viewed 9513 times

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby K2 » Apr 26th, 2014 at 5:26 pm

I'm now at eight S1's total - gonna stop there. I think pulling almost 3200 watts is enough :)

Had these all running in the open, grouped in pairs and then in quads (quad grouping helps a bit on temps). But at that point the basement was starting to hit 79-80 degrees F. That plus S1 #5 was reaching 60 C and was self-throttling down to preserve itself. So I broke down and purchased rear pull fans for the remaining S1's that didnt have them already - that helped quite a bit. And now to try to get the temperature under control in the basement, I've completely sealed them off...

IMG_0117.JPG
Eight S1's sealed off
IMG_0117.JPG (2.65 MiB) Viewed 9503 times


Since doing this, the basement temp has dropped by almost 3 degrees, and all of the S1's are staying in the mid to high 40's C range. So far so good. The front piece of cardboard in the middle can be lifted up easily in case I need to access anything. Going to force some cooler air from upstairs into the basement to try and level out the temps, trying to get it back to under 70 F. Here's hoping.

User avatar
Duncan3
Fresh Meat
Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 3rd, 2014 at 1:43 pm

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby Duncan3 » May 9th, 2014 at 12:36 pm

This is my Rig. Third S1, thanks to click and TBR should be hooked up today.

Image

User avatar
BeerPimp
Fresh Meat
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 22nd, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby BeerPimp » May 13th, 2014 at 8:49 pm

I kept meaning to post an update with my 4 S1's. I added pull fans to them and a fan controller.
3 of them have this fan it runs at 3000rpm at full speed 133CFM. It's the closest to the stock S1 fan I have seen.
http://www.amazon.com/Scythe-DFS123812H-3000-Ultra-Kaze-120mm/dp/B001JKNMBE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1400028314&sr=8-1&keywords=Scythe+DFS123812H-3000

I connected to them to this controller which you can set to auto rpm based on temp or manual and set a percentage. In manual the minimum percentages it runs at is 40%.
http://www.amazon.com/SENTRY-Accessories-5-25-Inch-Screen-Controller/dp/B002L16OMO/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1400028458&sr=1-1&keywords=nzxt+sentry+2

Image

Image

User avatar
Nad
Moderator
Posts: 2481
Joined: Sep 15th, 2002 at 8:15 am

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby Nad » May 20th, 2014 at 9:44 am

I'm curious, how long does it take you to pay off this sort of rig by mining? Won't the new technology make this obsolete before it pays for itself. Also, will the new technology increase the difficulty to a point where this will cost more in energy than it can produce in bitcoin?

I would love to get into this, but can't bring myself to invest thousands if I will never see a return on that investment.
Hardfought Forum/Game Server Admin and all around board troll
Image

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby K2 » May 20th, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Nad wrote:I'm curious, how long does it take you to pay off this sort of rig by mining? Won't the new technology make this obsolete before it pays for itself. Also, will the new technology increase the difficulty to a point where this will cost more in energy than it can produce in bitcoin?

I would love to get into this, but can't bring myself to invest thousands if I will never see a return on that investment.


It all depends on your hashrate and what the price is of the coins you're mining. Technically I'm still in the red but I didnt use any money that I couldn't afford to be without. Savings is still intact :) Bitcoin has dropped by about 50% since January (although there was a nice little rally today) but I'm still able to mine and profit even after electricity costs. However, I've peeled off of bitcoin and am mining curecoin at the moment, and hoarding. Hedging that prices will go up significantly before christmas.

The new tech coming out is more energy efficient than its predecessors, so no I don't think so. Bitcoin difficulty will continue to increase however. I'm not going to buy anymore mining gear for bitcoin. I figure it wont be profitable to mine it anymore by this christmas if bitcoin prices stay the same as they are today. By that point I'll switch to an alternate coin that is profitable.

User avatar
Duncan3
Fresh Meat
Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 3rd, 2014 at 1:43 pm

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby Duncan3 » Jun 3rd, 2014 at 12:06 am

Command Center........all is good

Image

User avatar
ArcticWolfie
Fresh Meat
Posts: 2
Joined: Feb 19th, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Re: Show off your mining rig

Postby ArcticWolfie » Jun 25th, 2014 at 3:50 pm

A bit late, but here's my new Zeus Blizzard! :shock:
It took me a while to get stable, but with an updated archlinux / minepeon on my RPi and a custom compiled cgminer (latest update from Zeus) it's finally happy hashing time! :) :) :) :)

unboxing:
Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Stats:
Image


Return to “Cryptocurrency”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest