Folding@Home - Team Hardfought

Anything and everything goes here... post away!

Moderators: EatMoreLead, Nad, Suck.

User avatar
Mouser
Elite Member
Posts: 1633
Joined: Dec 12th, 2004 at 8:34 pm

Postby Mouser » Sep 20th, 2005 at 5:53 pm

Even with 20 computers running 24/7, it would take him 11 years to do that many. There's gotta be something else going on there.

User avatar
Mouser
Elite Member
Posts: 1633
Joined: Dec 12th, 2004 at 8:34 pm

Postby Mouser » Sep 21st, 2005 at 1:56 am

Ok, first one done....6 more hours left on #2. Putting some sort of advo on the site would be a good idea. Get as many people as we can to do this.

User avatar
Mouser
Elite Member
Posts: 1633
Joined: Dec 12th, 2004 at 8:34 pm

Postby Mouser » Sep 23rd, 2005 at 4:57 pm

We're now in the top 10,000 teams. wewt, top 25 percentile. Gj to all those who are participating.

User avatar
EatMoreLead
Benefactor
Posts: 4406
Joined: Sep 17th, 2002 at 11:59 pm

Postby EatMoreLead » Sep 23rd, 2005 at 9:46 pm

Derfel wrote:How the fuck is my only WU worth 45 points? Sheesh. Like Canadian exchange rate applies for points too, FTW.


they prob don't trust you with anything important, lol
EatMoreLead aka EML

User avatar
Mouser
Elite Member
Posts: 1633
Joined: Dec 12th, 2004 at 8:34 pm

Postby Mouser » Sep 23rd, 2005 at 10:14 pm

You probably had a very small one that didn't take very long. The one I currently have is 44 hours with my P4 3.0 GHz. That ones gonna put me above scott. Btw, is that Cud at the top? Who's scott?

User avatar
Dylan
Senior Member
Posts: 399
Joined: Apr 3rd, 2005 at 1:54 am

Postby Dylan » Sep 23rd, 2005 at 10:23 pm

Mouser wrote:You probably had a very small one that didn't take very long. The one I currently have is 44 hours with my P4 3.0 GHz. That ones gonna put me above scott. Btw, is that Cud at the top? Who's scott?

Well Scott is Trap's name so i'm guessing its him
Servers gone and all of a sudden people have opinions of K2, weird

User avatar
Mouser
Elite Member
Posts: 1633
Joined: Dec 12th, 2004 at 8:34 pm

Postby Mouser » Oct 1st, 2005 at 10:44 pm

Any chance we can get this stickied? It's for a good cause and noone else may get involved if it just gets buried.

User avatar
Suck.
Benefactor
Posts: 3146
Joined: Nov 13th, 2004 at 8:36 pm

Postby Suck. » Oct 1st, 2005 at 11:23 pm

N2 is a h4x0r. 14 processors so far, and who knows how many more he's got working on it. :roll:


-Grant.

User avatar
N2itivX
Senior Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Nov 21st, 2004 at 2:44 pm

Postby N2itivX » Oct 2nd, 2005 at 12:19 am

Should be up to 45 or 50 by the end of the weekend. :shock: Just depends on how fast they can get WUs done..

User avatar
Suck.
Benefactor
Posts: 3146
Joined: Nov 13th, 2004 at 8:36 pm

Postby Suck. » Oct 2nd, 2005 at 12:41 am

:lol: Maybe we should rename it Team N2... :roll:

Nice man, nice. Where are you doing this from? Are you an IT director somewhere?


-Grant.

User avatar
Catalyst22
Elite Member
Posts: 3606
Joined: Sep 30th, 2004 at 8:21 pm

Postby Catalyst22 » Oct 2nd, 2005 at 12:56 am

Would be funny if N2 was a hacker... Hacking peoples home computers to run Folding@home.... I don't even know if they could prosecute you for that without feeling a twinge of guilt.
“When you have the facts on your side, argue the facts. When you have the law on your side, argue the law. When neither is on your side, change the subject and question the motives of the opposition.â€

User avatar
N2itivX
Senior Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Nov 21st, 2004 at 2:44 pm

Postby N2itivX » Oct 2nd, 2005 at 1:30 am

Suck. wrote::lol: Maybe we should rename it Team N2... :roll:

Nice man, nice. Where are you doing this from? Are you an IT director somewhere?


8) I used to run folding for HardOCP as "N2itiv", but I'd rather represent for HardFought. Linkage.Sure wish I could apply those 119,673 points to Hardfought's total. Oh well...

Anyway, it's a shame to waste a machine's potential, when 99% of the time they're running at less than 1% utilization. Hopefully this will all help *something* down the road.

User avatar
Catalyst22
Elite Member
Posts: 3606
Joined: Sep 30th, 2004 at 8:21 pm

Postby Catalyst22 » Oct 2nd, 2005 at 1:40 am

thats odd... All my office systems run at 99% system utilization... I think it has something to do with my moron users clicking anything on the web that has a hyperlink.

My director brought her home computer in for me to look at... it was pathetic. Its no wonder that Bush wants to cut funding to nonprofits, from what I can tell, they are mostly ran by wealthy white women with no common sense and operate more like a hobby than a social support system. Not that I'm bitter.
“When you have the facts on your side, argue the facts. When you have the law on your side, argue the law. When neither is on your side, change the subject and question the motives of the opposition.â€

User avatar
Mouser
Elite Member
Posts: 1633
Joined: Dec 12th, 2004 at 8:34 pm

Postby Mouser » Oct 22nd, 2005 at 1:33 pm

Just an FYI. If anyone is having trouble with games minimizing themselves and not reopening, just close F@H while you play. That was my problem about tabbing out of game and not being able to get back in.

User avatar
Deleted User
*poof*
Posts: 7507
Joined: Jul 13th, 2006 at 3:41 am

Postby Deleted User » Oct 22nd, 2005 at 5:44 pm

wait, are you saying i shouldn't be running a program that uses half my CPU while trying to game? wtf is wrong with you?

User avatar
Suck.
Benefactor
Posts: 3146
Joined: Nov 13th, 2004 at 8:36 pm

Postby Suck. » Oct 22nd, 2005 at 9:08 pm

First, F@H is a pain in the ass on my comp, since I use Hyperthreading. I really don't feel like running two instances of it, so I'm not nearly hitting my potential. Oh yeah, and we my need to change our name to "Team N2". :roll:


-Grant.

User avatar
Mouser
Elite Member
Posts: 1633
Joined: Dec 12th, 2004 at 8:34 pm

Postby Mouser » Oct 23rd, 2005 at 3:16 am

No, I meant that even if you pause work and just have the program running even though it isn't doing anything...it can interfere with games.

User avatar
Suck.
Benefactor
Posts: 3146
Joined: Nov 13th, 2004 at 8:36 pm

Postby Suck. » Oct 23rd, 2005 at 4:13 am

Pause it? Are you actually running the GUI version? Use the fucking console version nub. It uses less resources and doesn't fuck with games. You can't run any OpenGL programs while you're running the GUI version. Read my posts above numbnuts. :roll:


-Grant.

User avatar
KillerClown
Senior Member
Posts: 759
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 8:39 pm

Postby KillerClown » Nov 5th, 2005 at 11:30 am

Console version hasn't affected any of the games I play, and this comp is a total PoS.

On another note: the first work assignment has taken this thing over a month to do. I'm just now at 991/1000, although I close it down a lot when my comp is having issues.
"Truth is treason in the empire of lies." - Ron Paul

User avatar
N2itivX
Senior Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Nov 21st, 2004 at 2:44 pm

Postby N2itivX » Nov 6th, 2005 at 7:17 pm

The console version, running as a service, completely hoses SW-KOTORII. I made it to the last world, Malachor 5, and the FPS dropped so low it was literally unplayable (and this is on an A64 @ 2.4ghz, 2gb ddr, GF6800GTOC. Once I stopped the service, it ran fine. So far that's the only game I've had affected by it. :roll:

User avatar
Suck.
Benefactor
Posts: 3146
Joined: Nov 13th, 2004 at 8:36 pm

Postby Suck. » Dec 13th, 2005 at 2:27 pm

Hardfought has broken the top 1000 teams. 8) Great job guys, keep up the good work (especially Team N2 ;)).

If anyone not yet participating can spare the CPU usage while you're not using it (you can throttle the program to use any % of idle CPU time), this is a really worthwhile cause. Don't mess with the GUI version; it sucks ass and consumes GPU resources if not entirely tying it up. Get the console only version. PM me on IRC or the forums if you'd like help setting it up.


-Grant.

User avatar
rekloose-[PUPPY]
Elite Member
Posts: 4182
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 11:38 pm

Postby rekloose-[PUPPY] » Dec 13th, 2005 at 2:29 pm

haha i don't think my 400mhz PC could spare much processing power :/

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7106
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Dec 13th, 2005 at 4:43 pm

You'd be surprised puppy, esp in console mode. You arent using it 24/7 are ya? When it's idle, let it run the program. My lil toughbook laptop runs it nearly 24/7, otherwise it wouldnt be doing much of anything.

User avatar
Jeng
Elite Member
Posts: 1360
Joined: Nov 16th, 2005 at 6:16 pm

Postby Jeng » Dec 13th, 2005 at 11:10 pm

Would haveing a 64 bit operating system help? Running win2k with an athlon 64 3200, been thinking of upgradeing to xp64, but haven't had a good reason yet, or a good download.
I really need to change this sig

User avatar
rekloose-[PUPPY]
Elite Member
Posts: 4182
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 11:38 pm

Postby rekloose-[PUPPY] » Dec 14th, 2005 at 12:31 am

actually, it is running 24/7 .. it's my test/dev server as well as my chatting pc ...


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest