Folding@Home - Team Hardfought

Anything and everything goes here... post away!

Moderators: Nad, Suck., EatMoreLead

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7080
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Folding@Home - Team Hardfought

Postby K2 » Sep 16th, 2005 at 7:43 pm

Image

I just started running the Folding@Home screensaver. It's a distributed network screensaver, takes a chunk of data, has your computer process it, and sends it back to the source for final processing. Folding@Home is computing the billions of different ways key proteins 'fold' - understanding how they do this can lead to cures for a variety of diseases.

To learn more about the process and to download the screensaver, visit http://folding.stanford.edu.

To join 'Team Hardfought', follow these directions:

New team Hardfought with number 46304 has been founded by k2_1971@hardfought.org
(The team page will link to homepage at http://www.hardfought.org and link to a logo graphic at http://www.hardfought.org/images/hfpng2.gif

Any client program can contribute to the statistics for this team by putting the number 46304 in the team field
(right-click to configure a client program)


If you already use the Folding@Home screensaver, please consider joining team Hardfought :P

Discuss.

User avatar
rekloose-[PUPPY]
Elite Member
Posts: 4182
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 11:38 pm

Postby rekloose-[PUPPY] » Sep 16th, 2005 at 11:51 pm

He got it from banging that slut, Canada. I told him not to do it - but he's weak and she's a dirty, dirty whore.

User avatar
Catalyst22
Elite Member
Posts: 3606
Joined: Sep 30th, 2004 at 8:21 pm

Postby Catalyst22 » Sep 17th, 2005 at 1:29 am

I thought folding at home was a Euphemism for maserbating. You live you learn.
“When you have the facts on your side, argue the facts. When you have the law on your side, argue the law. When neither is on your side, change the subject and question the motives of the opposition.â€

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7080
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Sep 18th, 2005 at 3:35 am

Fuckin thread hijackers...

Did anybody get this at all? And if so, did ya sign up on the team?

User avatar
Suck.
Benefactor
Posts: 3146
Joined: Nov 13th, 2004 at 8:36 pm

Postby Suck. » Sep 18th, 2005 at 4:14 am

I figured that this was something that at least you'd be running K2. :roll:
Here's our team page info: http://vspx27.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main ... mnum=46304


-Grant.

User avatar
JayPhat
Elite Member
Posts: 2701
Joined: Feb 24th, 2005 at 7:35 pm

Postby JayPhat » Sep 18th, 2005 at 11:27 am

If its anything like SETI@home, it downloads very few and far between then saves to transmit when its complete.
Image

User avatar
Suck.
Benefactor
Posts: 3146
Joined: Nov 13th, 2004 at 8:36 pm

Postby Suck. » Sep 18th, 2005 at 2:57 pm

JayPhat wrote:If its anything like SETI@home, it downloads very few and far between then saves to transmit when its complete.

Yeah, it works in almost an identical way to SETI@Home. IMO, though, it's a much better use of your computer, since there's a more immediate and real application to the data you're grinding. The Folding@Home program is specifically studying a number of diseases, including Alzheimer's Disease, Huntington's Disease, Parkinson's Disease, and several types of cancer.

I'm working on my first workload, and each workload will earn points for Hardfought's team. Hopefully some of y'all will participate as well.


-Grant.

User avatar
Suck.
Benefactor
Posts: 3146
Joined: Nov 13th, 2004 at 8:36 pm

Postby Suck. » Sep 18th, 2005 at 8:38 pm

We're on the scoreboard ;) ... Not that that's the reason I'm doing this or anything. :roll: It does kinda' give me a sense of accomplishment though.

I thought I'd give a couple of tips for anyone interested in doing this. First, download and install the GUI client. Then, get the console version as well, and put it in the same directory. I also recommend getting the console readme file next to the its download, which will explain switches and stuff for that version.

The main reason that you want both versions is because the GUI version is very nice and cool, plus it does all that install stuff for you, while the console version is just an .exe you copy into the directory (it can run alone, simply creating configs in whatever folder it's in). As for why you'll want the console version, the GUI version interferes with OpenGL applications, so you won't be able to use OpenGL games and stuff while running it. The console version also allows you one advanced setup option that can't be set with the GUI (but will cary over): If you have multiple processors, you can specify which to run the task from. In fact, if you want to to run an instance of the program on each processor (for those with multiple processors), it will explain that as well.

If you're interested, I recommend reading about them and what they do, as well as the program FAQ online.


-Grant.

User avatar
Mouser
Elite Member
Posts: 1633
Joined: Dec 12th, 2004 at 8:34 pm

Postby Mouser » Sep 19th, 2005 at 1:47 am

Alright, 10% in to my first WU. It takes a full 24 hours on my machine for it to finish.

User avatar
G$
Benefactor
Posts: 499
Joined: Oct 20th, 2004 at 12:56 pm

Postby G$ » Sep 19th, 2005 at 2:09 am

Ben Folds Five and so should you!

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7080
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Sep 19th, 2005 at 3:14 am

rofl...

I'm about 80% into my first WU on my main laptop; about 7% into my first WU on my lil panasonic toughbook (oh god its slow, but I can run it in ss mode pretty much 24/7).

User avatar
Suck.
Benefactor
Posts: 3146
Joined: Nov 13th, 2004 at 8:36 pm

Postby Suck. » Sep 19th, 2005 at 1:20 pm

Mother. Fucker. My internet went screwy last night, and an entire 1,000,000 step WU was lost. It finished, but never sent, and I had to reboot -- no way around it. When it rebooted, it never even tried to resend; it just downloaded a new one. :evil: Mother fucking piece of shit.


-Grant.

User avatar
Suck.
Benefactor
Posts: 3146
Joined: Nov 13th, 2004 at 8:36 pm

Postby Suck. » Sep 19th, 2005 at 1:26 pm

In fact, I've been meaning to bring this up: Hardfought's main page totally fucks my internet sometimes. It doesn't happen with ANY other sites, just the frameset on this site. For some reason, it completely ties up all TCP connections with Windows XP on my computer, or something similar, so that the entire protocol is dead until I reboot. Does this happen to anyone else, and does anyone have any suggestions?

I've got one: Get rid of the fucking frames.


-Grant.

User avatar
K2
Administrator
Posts: 7080
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 6:33 am

Postby K2 » Sep 19th, 2005 at 1:35 pm

Um, frames do not 'tie up all TCP connections' on a clients computer. This website turns 5 yrs old next month, and I've never had anyone complain about the site in that manner *ever* - it's you guy, not the site.

Staying on-topic - F@H doesnt write-back to disk WU's? Damn dude... send in a bug report, that;s not cool that ya lost an entire WU :(

User avatar
Catalyst22
Elite Member
Posts: 3606
Joined: Sep 30th, 2004 at 8:21 pm

Postby Catalyst22 » Sep 19th, 2005 at 1:37 pm

Frames tie up all TCP connections? WTF? I knew they should have used Appletalk when they defined the standards for frames!
“When you have the facts on your side, argue the facts. When you have the law on your side, argue the law. When neither is on your side, change the subject and question the motives of the opposition.â€

User avatar
Suck.
Benefactor
Posts: 3146
Joined: Nov 13th, 2004 at 8:36 pm

Postby Suck. » Sep 19th, 2005 at 1:41 pm

Nah, it does do backups, every 15 minutes. Apparently though, because it had tried repeatedly to send it in, it decided to just clear the disk writes (or corrupt it) when i shut the program down, so that when I reopened it upon reboot, the info was just fucking gone, and I got some data missing or corrupted error. :(

I'm 100% certain that it has something to do with this site; it NEVER happens with any other site. If it's not the frames, then somehow my connection gets tied up with the web server with open/partial/? connections, so that I can't send or receive any more data via TCP until reboot. It's not my hardware or software firewalls. It's definately WinXP -- not a clue.


-Grant.

User avatar
Catalyst22
Elite Member
Posts: 3606
Joined: Sep 30th, 2004 at 8:21 pm

Postby Catalyst22 » Sep 19th, 2005 at 2:07 pm

Aren't you running Norton Internet Screwity? Have you tried disabling it to see what happens?
“When you have the facts on your side, argue the facts. When you have the law on your side, argue the law. When neither is on your side, change the subject and question the motives of the opposition.â€

User avatar
Suck.
Benefactor
Posts: 3146
Joined: Nov 13th, 2004 at 8:36 pm

Postby Suck. » Sep 19th, 2005 at 3:20 pm

Yeah, that's how I know it's Windows. It happens with our without NIS; after 10 to 20 reloads, the Hardfought main page fucks my TCP protocol.


-Grant.

User avatar
Suck.
Benefactor
Posts: 3146
Joined: Nov 13th, 2004 at 8:36 pm

Postby Suck. » Sep 19th, 2005 at 3:47 pm

Two things: first, it occurred to me that I should probably see if it fucks up with only Firefox or if the main HF site also fucks my TCP protocol with MSIE.

Second, Yay! Apparently, my second WU did send successfully, because it just showed up on the Hardfought WAH site. I just looked in my log file, and in the middle of the several error messages I got, it says "results successfully sent"! Score! Man, that had me pissed off... like 14 hours of grinding down the drain.


-Grant.

User avatar
Mouser
Elite Member
Posts: 1633
Joined: Dec 12th, 2004 at 8:34 pm

Postby Mouser » Sep 19th, 2005 at 3:57 pm

So realistically, how much bandwidth does this take up. I've been running the thing all night and all day up til now where I have it paused. For some reason, no porn will load up on my computer...it just sits there with the "receiving file" thing spinning around. No joke intended here. I'm just worried that I was just capped or something. I don't understand computers...so someone let me know please.

//edit. It was just a couple of the sites...some others are working so I think everything is kosher now.

User avatar
Suck.
Benefactor
Posts: 3146
Joined: Nov 13th, 2004 at 8:36 pm

Postby Suck. » Sep 19th, 2005 at 4:01 pm

It takes up virtually no bandwidth. The only time it even needs to be connected is when it's receiving the data file and when it's uploading the results, both of which are tiny files. What it is doing is using your idle CPU time.

Basicaly, the F@H program just replaces the system idle process. It's extremely low priority, and you can set what % of available CPU it will consume. When your computer isn't doing much, the program will grind away with the available CPU time. Everything has priority over this program.

As for your porn, I'd say it's just a coincidence.


-Grant.

User avatar
Suck.
Benefactor
Posts: 3146
Joined: Nov 13th, 2004 at 8:36 pm

Postby Suck. » Sep 19th, 2005 at 4:48 pm

Suggestion:

Make a new section on the main page dedicated to Folding@Home. This is a very worthy cause, and an entire site section might draw more attention to it. Something that caught my eye is [H]ard|OCP's contribution to the FAH project:
http://vspx27.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main ... teamnum=33

Granted, they've got a much, much larger community, but they've got incredible participation in this project. They've actually dedicated an entire domain to their efforts:
http://www.hardfolding.com/

Just a thought...


-Grant.

User avatar
KillerClown
Senior Member
Posts: 754
Joined: Sep 14th, 2002 at 8:39 pm

Postby KillerClown » Sep 20th, 2005 at 3:23 pm

blame canada! :o


Edit: I'm only like 20% through my first one, though ill have to keep it paused about half the day.
"Truth is treason in the empire of lies." - Ron Paul

User avatar
Mouser
Elite Member
Posts: 1633
Joined: Dec 12th, 2004 at 8:34 pm

Postby Mouser » Sep 20th, 2005 at 4:36 pm

So does everyone else take 24 hours to complete? I was looking at Hardgaming's and the top guy has 82120?!?! How does that happen?

User avatar
pyrox420
Elite Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Nov 4th, 2004 at 5:42 pm

Postby pyrox420 » Sep 20th, 2005 at 5:19 pm

Multiple computers (he's probably running a comp lab or some place with a ton of computers all logged in under his name. )
"You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with until you understand who's in ruttin' command here". - Jayne


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests